I spent a good amount of time this morning fretting over what to make for dinner.  My fridge was getting low and my pantry failed to inspire me.  I decided to head out to the grocery store in the hopes of finding some inspiration there.  Chicken was on sale for a change.  Then I passed through the ethnic foods isle and saw cans of enchilada sauce, BINGO! (I did not buy the canned sauce, however, as it is so easy to make from scratch.)

Mexican it is.

enchilada

In a small saucepan, heat some tomato puree (I still have an abundance of tomatoes from my garden so I made this myself), add 2 tablespoons of chili powder, a teaspoon of ground cumin, a tablespoon each of garlic and onion powder, salt and pepper.  Leave it on medium low heat to warm through.

enchiladasauce

Meanwhile, cut 2 good sized chicken breasts into small chunks, and heat in a skillet with a small amount of olive oil, over medium high heat, until cooked through.  Add 1/4 of the sauce (above) and a handful of shredded cheddar cheese.  Simmer over medium heat for about 10 minutes.

Image

Now to put it all together.  You will need 6 large flour tortillas (corn works well here too and adds a bit of flavor.)  Dip each tortilla in the warm enchilada sauce to coat.  Place about 2 tablespoons of the chicken mixture in the center, and roll it up.

Image

Place the rolled enchiladas into a glass baking dish just big enough to hold them all snugly. Top with remaining sauce and sprinkle with cheddar cheese.  Bake at 400 f for 10 minutes, until cheese is bubbly and golden on top.  Let cool.

 

Image

Serve with salsa, sour cream, guacamole or whatever you like 🙂

What you will need:

  • 2 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • olive oil
  • chili powder
  • cumin
  • garlic powder
  • onion powder
  • salt and pepper
  • 6 large flour (or corn) tortillas
  • tomato puree
