Image

 

It was a comfort food kind of day today in my home.  With fall weather peeking its head around the corner, I felt like a meal my mom used to cook for us, only updated a tad.

I am not the biggest fan of carrots, in fact, they are one of my least favorite vegetables, but my hubby came home from the grocery store with 10 pounds and now I have to get creative.  I could eat these glazed carrots by the bowlful!  Simply the best carrots I have ever had.

Taking the extra step to roast the garlic before adding it to the mashed potatoes gives it a warmer, less pungent  garlic taste, and just feels like comfort food.  And roasted garlic has the added bonus of making your home smell amazing.

I kept the meatloaf recipe pretty basic this time, as I had some pretty bold flavors in the sides.  For once, I think the protein on this dish is not the star, and I am okay with that.

Meatloaf:

1 lb lean ground beed

1 small onion, diced

1 tspn oregano

1 tspn garlic powder

1 tspn smoked paprika

salt and pepper to taste

1 egg, beaten

1/4 breadcrumbs soaked in some milk (just enough to moisten the crumbs)

Glaze for the meatloaf:  Mix together a bit of ketchup & mustard, a dash of hot sauce, about 2 tblspn of brown sugar and a dash of Worcestershire sauce.  Brush some over the meatloaf at the beginning of the cooking process and halfway through. 

Preheat oven to 400 f.

Mix together all the meatloaf ingredients and form  it into a log.  Wrap tightly with cling wrap and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Unwrap and  bake in a deep baking tray for 30-40 minutes, until golden brown on top.  ( I never do my loaf in a loaf pan, as it sits in it’s own fat for too long.)

Let rest 10 minutes before slicing.

 

Roasted Garlic Mash: 

Chop the top off of one whole head of garlic, ad place it in some tinfoil.  Top it with a small amount of olive oil, salt and pepper.  Wrap it tightly and bake it for 45 minutes at 350 f.

Boil 4 medium sized potatoes, cut into chunks until tender. (I don’t peel my potatoes, as the skin holds so many nutrients and flavor, but that’s up to you.) Drain the potatoes and season with salt & pepper.  Add 1/4 cup of butter and a splash of milk, and the roasted garlic. (no a whole head is not too much, it’s very mild when its roasted.)  Mash well, to your preferred texture.

 

Glazed Carrots:

Wash and slice (on the bias) 4 large carrots into medallions.  Boil for about 10 minutes, or until just cooked but not crunchy.

Drain.  Season with salt and pepper and return them to the pot.  To the pot, add 1/4 cup brown sugar and 2 tblspn of butter (or a tad more, i didn’t measure)  Simmer over medium high heat until the extra liquid evaporates and the carrots look nice and sticky/shiny.  Don’t walk away from the pot, butter and sugar can burn very quickly.  let cool slightly before serving.

 

 

 

 

