ImageAs i mentioned in a previous post, I took up gardening as a new hobby this year.  I was absolutely astonished by how much zucchini those 4 little plants gave me.  I was also amazed at how much I enjoyed the muffins that resulted from such a plentiful harvest.  I wan’t sure I would like zucchini muffins, I only remember the ones I had as a child, which were dry and tasted like vegetables.  These were the polar opposite; moist and savory with the addition of olive oil instead of butter.  Great for a quick weekday breakfast.

Image

Recipe:

  • 3 cups grated fresh zucchini
  • 1 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • Pinch salt
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg (freshly grated)

METHOD

You don’t need a mixer for this recipe.

1 Preheat the oven to 350°F (175°C). In a large bowl combine the sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Stir in the grated zucchini and then the olive oil. In a separate bowl, mix together the flour, baking soda, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Stir these dry ingredients into the zucchini mixture.

2 Coat each muffin cup in your muffin pan with a little butter or vegetable oil spray. Use a spoon to distribute the muffin dough equally among the cups, filling the cups up completely. Bake on the middle rack until muffins are golden brown, and the top of the muffins bounce back when you press on them, about 25 to 30 minutes. Test with a long toothpick or a thin bamboo skewer to make sure the center of the muffins are done. Set on wire rack to cool for 5 minutes. Remove muffins from the tin let cool another 20 minutes.

