ImageIn honor of National Pizza day, I’ve decided to stray from my oh so loved ultra thin crust pizza and make a meaty deep dish pizza. Something about the idea of baking a pizza in my cast iron skillet excites me.  There is no real recipe here, but I will post my recipe later today for my pizza dough (I need to give actual measurements for that).  Other than that its just pizza sauce, lots of cheese and meat, and any other veggies you like. Me, i’m going with Italian and breakfast sausage, green peppers, mushrooms and green olives, pepperoni. This is not a meal for the health conscious.  Nor is it something I would eat very often, but hey, we all deserve a treat now and then, right?

Image

All you need to do is make sure your meat is precooked, spread the dough into a 12 inch skillet (oven safe), layer in the toppings (I do 2 layers of cheese, 1 between and one on top) and bake in a 400 f oven on the middle rack for 20-25 minutes.  Voila, meaty goodness!  Let it cool slightly, serve and enjoy 🙂

Image

